The Weird

In my family, strange is the norm.  There’s something different about our brains that make us think words like ‘cookie’ are funny or that Balki Bartokomous’ dance of joy is awesome (yes, a sister and I have it memorized).  There’s something about my own subconscious that makes my dreams vivid and odd – like the one from last night, where I was with a group of people running around my home church trying to get away from a very slow-moving zombie who always seemed able to catch up.  Or there’s Uncle Pickle, who’s evidently gone AWOL as of this month – mail returned with no forwarding address, phone disconnected, pretty much an almost-missing person.  Shannon, if you’re reading this, don’t freak out.

So I suppose it comes as no surprise that I find myself in unusual circumstances often.  For example, I currently have no place to live.  My address, according to the USPS, is in Indianapolis, but I’m still working in Boston.  For now, I take my housing where I can get it.  Last night I was at my friend Jeff’s apartment.  He was out of town , so I was there alone with his roommate Erin, who I’d never met before.  Somewhere nearby there’s a psychic dog.  I know, because whenever I was about to fall asleep, he would bark.  Not for a long period – just one or two sharp staccato ‘roofs’ just as I was reaching unconsciousness.  If I wasn’t so tired, I would’ve been fascinated.  The roommate was nice though she may have thought I was a freak.  I swear I wasn’t scary – I just sat there alone in the living room all night, completely silent.  Erin, I was working on my law school scholarship video all night.  Really!  And I got quite a bit done, too.  So far it’s awesome, but since I think parts of it are funny, it may be a little weird.

The word itself however – weird – was not originally meant to have negative connotations.  it signified the unusual, the different, the unique and wonderful.  Before even adjective meanings, it was a noun and a verb.  It meant fate and power, the influence of the gods and the ability to read their intentions.  It was a word that implied magic, the supernatural, a force that causes things to spring into being.  So this whole predisposition may be to my benefit after all.

Leave a Reply

