Two little dips into the technology pool.

Yesterday I was fortunate enough to be able to watch the inauguration on television here in the office.  It was nice – speeches were powerful, prayers were meaningful, and artists showed off their respective arts to the delight of the public.  I enjoyed it.  In addition, it was short, which is always good for me.  If you can’t be succinct, what’s the point?

But the whole memorable occasion (and beleive, me, I think it will only grow more memorable with time) is further illuminated by changes already taking place in the office of the Presidency.  I’m speaking not just of the redress of wrongs, but also the opening up of the office of president through technology, specifically the whitehouse.gov website.  So far, so good.  It looks like it will do the job of passing on information to the public well, and the weekly video address idea is great (can we say Nixon?).  It seems that this guy knows what he’s doing, especially technology-wise.

Speaking of knowing what you’re doing, there’s Turn Here, the little advertising niche firm that evidently started out, not by knowing what it was doing, but by following a trend.  I want that.  I want to catch a trend and run with it.  Now, if I can just do so looking as stately as Obama at the same time, all will be well.

Leave a Reply

