The Oven glove makes yet another attempt to keep me in line.

There was a character on Sesame Street in my youth that I often had cause to identify with.  His name was Forgetful Jones, and even the simplest of tasks or the most obvious of objects could slip from his mind at a moments notice.  All through my life, this has been my problem – the hair brush I didn’t put away is gone for good, or my cell phone is missing yet again.  In elementary school I had a terrible time not because I was unintelligent, but because I would simply forget my homework.  I’ve tried most of the ‘practical’ solutions people give: a dayplanner, lists, emails to myself, sticky notes, the string-around-the-finger.  I cope.  I manage.  I still forget.

The ‘new’ century has also brought the online version of this system of tracking – list.it, a program for taking short notes that is fully synchronized and backed up as long as you have Firefox access to the interweb.  It’s a convenient sidebar tool, and thus far is helping me remember other people’s music suggestions for me and the things I need to get done in the next few days.  I can’t really control the order of appearance for the list, or limit the amount of each note that is ‘shown’ – there is no sort of summary listing.  But it seems like a potentially useful little thing.

2 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    January 7, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    Or you could invest in a larger hippocampus. I’ll let you know when we get a spare.

  2. sedgehammer said,

    January 7, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Thanks for looking out for me, brain-man.


Leave a Reply

