The Cookie Gods

There are few things in life I like more than a cookie.  Just say the word – “cookie”.  It even sounds like it’s filled with goodness.  I love that my boss and other office minions delight in providing me with a daily cookie fix.  I love that the word is a source of humor either by itself (if you’re Shannon) or in various jokes involving tossed cookies or cowboys.  I love that Jason comfort-foods me with them.  For any of you who’ve ever read (or had read to them) the story Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, you’ll notice that cookies are one of the foods that never becomes a problem in falling from the skies.  Why?  Because cookies are simply never bad.

Which brings me to my next point – why are we not awash in a sea of cookie provender from benficent gods above?  As cookies cannot cause floods, they would be more useful than excessive rain.  And don’t I (Don’t you, ALL of you) deserve a cookie?  I think I do.  But how does one bring about a hail of cookies from the sky?  Have we already angered the cookie gods in some way we don’t know about?  Does our cloud-dough lack substance?  Did somebody leave out that pinch of salt that would provide an instant cookie downpour?

I cannot say.  But, I think, it would be advisable for those of us without cookies to begin an immediate cookie dance to bring down the cookies from the sky once again.  Couldn’t hurt, and provided no one breaks themselves, it would at least be entertaining.

Leave a Reply

