My roommate

I’ve had some questions of late as to the potential crazies of the girl I now live with.  Ok, I’ve lived with her almost a month now, and I’m still not quite sure.  There’s the lonely factor.  I’m absolutely certain that the fact that she can’t stop talking to me has something to do with her having basically lived on her own for the past year.  But she also has two cats, and is on her way to three.  Not that I mind cats – still the attention she pays to them in place of actual people could be indicative of a slightly imbalanced state of mind.  However, she’s a perfectly sweet and nice girl.  As a roommate, her expectations are low.  And she certainly doesn’t expect to be a part of my life, though she occasinally talks my ear off.

So are the potential crazies really a bad thing?  True, she’s possibly a little awkward to have around if you’re welcoming a new acquaintance into your home.  But she’s not the type to become physically dangerous.  And even if she does, she’s about half my size, wispy, and not nearly as mean as me on a joyous and stress-free day. What could she possibly do?  Even if she were to attempt to talk me to death, there’s always the possibility of fleeing in outright rudeness to get away.

On the other hand, she might be catching.  Let’s face it, I’m not the most socially balanced person all on my own.  Sure I can laugh at myself and often do, but I also tend to act even more ridiculous when I’m nervous.  So am I simply more worried of myself sinking into catladydom?  Or is there some deeper, less ridiculous fear there?  Or does it not have anything to do with my own fear for myself at all?  Is it more about this girl, who I don’t know or have any intention of knowing outside of living in the same apartment as her for a year, who I’ve already comforted on one of her bad days because there doesn’t seem to be anyone else?  What does it say that my roommate came home from her job crying and i was almost afraid to hug her?  What kind of world is that?

3 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    September 9, 2008 at 10:03 am

    I think you have an excellent teacher on your path to catladydom. Nice catch.

  2. Mike said,

    September 9, 2008 at 11:23 am

    Dude. Having met her just once, she’s crazy. And I still think the way you act around her is hilarious…

    If anybody wants a general idea of how conversations go, its a bit like this:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spike_the_Bulldog_and_Chester_the_Terrier

    Chester (Roomate): Hey spike what’re we doin’ today spike, we lookin’ for a cat spike? goin for a walk spike? Gee spike i’m really…..

    Spike (Stacey): Shaddup. *smack*

  3. Jeff Deck said,

    September 10, 2008 at 12:27 pm

    Aw– maybe she really doesn’t have anyone else to talk to. You are a good cookie for comforting her. Hopefully she won’t need that too often. Maybe try unloading on her sometime about your own stuff and see what happens? If she is not receptive, then you can feel free to guiltlessly avoid future comforting situations.


Leave a Reply

