The Oven Mitt reigns again.

In case you didn’t know it, I love where I work.  I love the people, I love the benefits, and I especially love the great things we do.

One of the great things I love that we do is the International Development Design Summit, culminating (sort-of) this Wednesday, August 6 in final presentations (the blog is here, if you want more detail).  Basically, the summit is the starting point for a variety of projects that make life easier in the developing world.  Projects could include cheap devices for making water safe to drink, environmentally friendly portable stoves, or new methods to manufacture locally produced goods.  But while the summit does generate an abundance of ideas and excitement, it’s the actions following its culmination that really get me excited.  That’s the portion where these participants, from a variety of countries, go back home and begin to change the world, actually implementing the designs created.

it gets me excited, not just because it’s about people doing stuff.  It gets me excited because it’s another opportunity that I could be involved in.  I considered ‘trying out’ for it this year, but life didn’t work out as I’d planned in that regard.  Still, it’s one of those tremendous opportunities that I could, possibly, do in the future and really make a difference with.  I love that – it makes the world full of bright and shining possibilities.

Leave a Reply

