My shoe: iShoe

People who know me know that I am a klutz.  It’s a reality of life that has left me as the last pick for most athletic teams and has caused numerous injuries to others in any sport that involves throwing, catching, or hitting.  I’ve fallen seamlessly to the ground while walking, half-fallen while simply standing, tripped my way up the stairs, and fallen out of my chair (literally).  Well, ok, that last one was on purpose.

Still, these early balance and co-ordination issues are only a taste of what I’ll face as an older adult.  What happens when these easy falls become serious injuries?  What happens when my bones are brittle and my joints inflamed?  Do I break both hips all the time and need consistent knee replacement surgery?  Am I confined to a wheelchair?

Fortunately, help is on the way.  While my serious balance problems will probably never have a cure, there are early warning systems being developped as we speak.  Yessir, I’m talking about the iShoe.  This lovely little rig of shoe insides and sensors was MADE for me.  Basically, you hook it up and it measures the pressure against the bottom of your feet, reading when such pressure is greater in one side or another and may lead to a fall.  it’s an early warning system designed to eventually read when someone is overbalancing themselves on their feet.

Yes, there’s still quite of bit of data to be gathered regarding what kind of pressure changes actually result in a fall.  Still, it’s a step in the right direction.  Someday soon, when I’m about to take a dive, there’ll be sirens, lights, and a klaxon going off, to warn me of the imminent fall – and to get innocent bystanders out of the way.

Leave a Reply

