Thank goodness for Belgians

I don’t know much about this small European country.  I know even less about Bavaria.  And I have never tasted what I would call an ‘authentic’ brew of either.  But if you asked me to pick between Anheuser-Busch and InBev, I prefer the taste of the latter.  Because of this, I have no hesitation in saying I’m glad A-B sold out.

It’s true that there will be some negative consequences for Saint Louis as a result of the merger.  Jobs are going to be lost.  A city that has been on the decline for some time is most likely going to sink further into its depression.  Philanthropic dollars of the merged company will most likely be spend elsewhere.  While the Budweiser name might remain, the Anheuser-Busch tradition will be one step further removed from that trademark.

Still, all is not lost.  The Clydesdales will most likely still be around for your visiting pleasure.  There will still be free samples given out at the brewery.  The names of Anheuser and Busch will still continue to adorn public buildings for some time.  And, finally, there may be a beer on the market available almost anywhere in the US that I actually like.

Leave a Reply

