‘Jaws’ for real.

Evidently Spielberg had precognitive abilities.  Despite the fact that sharks rarely prowl New England waters trolling for human flesh, despite the fact that the community known as ‘Amity’ does not exist, a recent great white siting has beaches of Edgartown and Martha’s Vineyard closed.  The island Vineyard was the filming site of the movie, which makes me wonder.  After all, it’s only a hop, skip, and a swim from where I live.

Still, the siting isn’t likely to keep me out of the water.  I love the ocean – I love water and playing in the waves and even occasionally getting water up my nose.  Besides, if I do get into a naval battle with a shark that’s bigger than me, I have a secret weapon – pointy elbows.

Leave a Reply

