Drink it RAW

I don’t like milk.  Sure, it occasionally tastes good – a cold glass cutting across the remains of lemon meringue pie, or used for dunking Oreos – but for the most part, I find it gross.  It causes your body to produce more mucus, it slimes the inside of your throat, and generally does not appeal to me.  I mean, its so full of stuff you can’t even see through it.  Would you drink particle-ridden water?  Plus there are all kinds of questions regarding whether or not growth hormone, pasteurization, and other modern processes are really adding to or detracting from the health benefits of milk.

Enter raw milk.  It’s only sellable in about half the states, you can’t transport it across state lines, and there are cases of suspected salmonella and E. coli poisoning from its consumption.  The FDA doesn’t like it.  The FDA doesn’t want you to drink it.  And certain families who’ve had bad experiences are suing raw milk producers for harming their children.  The producers do test the milk for harmful bacteria before selling it, however pasteurization is probably a better guarantee of killing everything.  And there are advocates who swear for the natural benefits of raw milk straight from the cow.

Personally the idea of raw milk is faintly nauseating to me, but that’s probably more because it’s milk than because it’s raw.  But there are other beverages that cannot be sold raw in Massachusetts that I love, namely, apple cider.  I want my own apple press where I can smoosh juice and gritty pulp out with weight and brute force.  I want cider that has real apple bits in it, still crunchy and fresh, instead of that mushy applesauce floating around in pasteurized ‘cider’.  I want fresh pressings, not boiled juice.

Honestly I’m not sure I could even drink real cider anymore.  I’m allergic to apples due to the pollen still contained within the fruit, which cooking (or pasteurization) denatures.  So perhaps it’s best that I don’t have direct access to that lovely tang of fresh-pressed cider, as it’s probably a temptation I could not resist.  And honestly, bacteria could grow just as easily in my murky pressings of choice as the murkiness of milk.  But I have no natural health benefits to tout for raw cider as opposed to the pasteurized kind.  It just tastes better.

Leave a Reply

