Left or found?

I would not be a good juror for the Entwistle case.  Despite not knowing all the facts, despite understanding the odd reactions of people under stress, I think he killed his wife and child, and that judgment may not be fair.  Statements by Entwistle himself have been made out to support my judgment, however.  Joseph Matterazzo, the murdered woman’s stepfather, testified that while on the phone with him discussing funeral arrangements, Entwistle had requested the two be buried together “because that’s the way I left them, I mean, that’s the way I found them”.

Could this slip of the tongue be the ultimate revelation of guilt?  Could Entwistle’s glee at escaping the US and potentially getting away with his crime have cause him to become tongue tied?  Or could the emotional stress of the moment be the only factor causing the slip?  He was, after all, talking to a man who he may have felt close to, a man he could slip with.

Still, I think we’re reading too much into this.  Sometimes, without cause, I lose my balance and stumble.  Sometimes I have difficulty getting a complete sentence out.  Neither of these accidental actions has thus far had anything to do with me killing anyone, nor do I think they ever will.  In addition, if he killed both of them, he still could’ve found them both in bed.  Even if he didn’t kill them, he still left them there.  Even his correction of himself could have been due to guilt at abandoning their bodies and not reporting a crime, rather than guilt at actually killing them.  But then, with so much of our justice system relying on eyewitness accounts, on personal opinion, on the interpretation of voice tone, body language, and facial expression, and on the rationality of various jurors that it will always be hard to grant fairness.  But perhaps that’s the way its supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

