We interrupt your regularly scheduled broadcast for a brief announcement

What could be better than a glorious Friday afternoon in the sun?  How about a bit of the ridiculous – a glorious Friday afternoon in the sun on a Segue?

While there are further reports of frustrations and losses in Myanmar, I would prefer to focus on the positive: people doing some good in the world.  And that’s what’s going on for a few U.S. veterans right now – Disability Rights Advocates for Technology is giving 30 veterans with amputations Segues for free.  The group sponsors a ‘Segs-4-Vets’ program in an attempt to give further mobility and support to a group of people that have already made sacrifices for us.

While I myself find Segues somewhat silly – why not walk, or even ride a bike? – I’m grateful that the technology exists.  Especially in this case, it gives people the freedom to move about without being looked down on, as they would literally be in a wheelchair.  Many of these machines are sold at reduced rates by individual retailers, rather than the manufacturer, giving stores the opportunity to prove they support their troops.  While it doesn’t make me want to go out and buy my own motorized personal transport whatever, it does shift my perspective a little.  If I see a Segue store, I’d be more likely to smile than snort.

3 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    May 9, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    As much as I enjoy the idea of a segue store, which I’m sure would lead nicely to the next stop on my list of errands, I think you mean a Segway.

  2. sedgehammer said,

    May 9, 2008 at 2:57 pm

    If I say SegWAY, it’s no longer punny, is it?

  3. Alex said,

    May 9, 2008 at 11:17 pm

    I thought my use was punny. I’m not so sure about yours :-p


Leave a Reply

