It’s Friday

It is the time of week where I begin to look forward to the weekend.  Ok, really I began to look forward to it Tuesday night, but I’m trying to not encourage the more ridiculous side of my nature.  But this particular moment is when I begin to daydream in a constant flow.  I want to just dive into some liquid-blue shimmer of relaxation.  Ah.  I’m ready for retirement.

Unfortunately the only liquid shimmer I will be experiencing this weekend is rain.  Gobs and gobs of it.  Though I don’t know what a gob of rain looks like, I have confidence that I will be able to tell you by Monday.   Thursday had me fooled – it started out miserable and cloudy, and I expected the weekend to be the same.  But then the sun came out, and dried up all the rain.  And Stacey was ready for a nice weekend again.  Alas.  Today is just as dismal as yesterday morning, and I have no hope of it changing this afternoon.

But there are good sides.  Something about rain causing flowers.  I can certainly say it’s doing something for them – the pollen is everywhere.   And the colors are wonderful.  The sky may be dull and cloudy without the stunning texture of storm, but everything else is vivid.  It’s like all-day afternoon light, with rich colors and deeper hues.  I’m sure some more scientific person could tell you why the sun at the angle past noon and the sun reflected and refracting through clouds causes some wavelength change that makes every color more intense.  For myself, I’m just going to delight in what beauty I can get on a damp and wretched day.

1 Comment

  1. Shannon said,

    May 9, 2008 at 4:57 pm

    Take Mike out for a nice…walk in the rain. I was going to say romp, but I was afraid it would be taken the wrong way. I love rain!


Leave a Reply

