Evidently I need to listen to more current music.

When I was a young teenage thing, everybody listened to the radio.  That’s how us hip kidsters were appraised of modern trends.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t doing what I was supposed to according to pop culture at that time either, so I missed out on quite a bit.  Even in my more educated 20s, I am occasionally embarrassed by not knowing particular songs or more often by not knowing the names of songs or singers or groups.  I didn’t own an iPod till someone gave me one last year, and I don’t really do much with iTunes or other music services of the online variety.  So I’m still out of the loop, though in a closer orbit around it.

My youngest sister gave evidence of this online today when we were chatting.  I will give you our conversation verbatim:

Shannon
guess who I saw in concert last night?
Stacey

who?

Shannon

Colbie Caillat

for FREE

she sings Bubbly

isn’t that cool?

Stacey

um, I don’t know who that is

so potentially, yes

but then again, maybe not?

How did I get myself into this fix yet again?  Should I start listening to the radio?  Or Pandora?  Or some other online radio station?  Or do something with Myspace Music?  Or just bother people for their favorite new stuff?  Please people, I’m in immediate need of education here!

2 Comments

  1. Shannon said,

    April 30, 2008 at 1:52 pm

    Sarah Bareilles, Tristan Prettyman, KT Tunstall, Ingrid Michaelson, Sean Hayes, A Fine Frenzy,

    there you go

  2. Alex said,

    April 30, 2008 at 7:35 pm

    I’ve never heard of Colbie Caillat, and of the list above only KT Tunstall. And I do listen to the radio. I vote you listen to Gnarls Barkely.


Leave a Reply

