The Best of April Fools

A head honcho at my current place of employment asked me if I had the ‘bandwidth’ to do some editing for him, to which I verbally replied “Yes”.  Secretly, however, I was thinking ‘I urgently need to write down some stuff about April 1 (today) on my blog’.  So, here it is.

1) Custom Time on Gmail (Thank you, Corina) – While the ability to send mail as if it had been sent hours or even days ago is one I imperatively need to beat my lifetime curse as forgetful Jones, thus far the real world has been unable to provide me with the ability.  todd-j.jpgIn the meantime, I’ll have to make due with the funnies of this page.  Classics such as ‘Gmail utilizes an e-flux capacitor to resolve issues of causality’ and ‘If we were to let you send an email from Gmail before Gmail existed, well, that would be like hanging out with your parents before you were born — crazy talk.’ really make this particular prank a class act.  However, my ultimate favorite is the ‘do from Todd J., Investment Banker, on this page.  With the finger-pointing, I can tell he’s a class act.

1-b) Google books has NEW! Scratch-and Sniff varieties.  Yay!  Oh wait, it’s not real.

2) Wikipedia’s ‘Featured Article‘ (Props to Josue) – While ‘Ima Hogg’ is the true name of a famous Texan lady (only in Texas) she did not, in fact, have sisters named Ura and Hoosa.  She was neither a circus emcee nor an ostrich jockey, and she was brought up to wealth, rather than in government housing.  However, it is most unfortunate that her father, one of Texas’s governors, was nicknamed ‘Big Jim’.

3) Google’s (/Virgin’s) Virgle Pioneer test – while the actual documentation on said exploration was somewhat less than titter-worthy, I completely enjoyed the online test, titled ‘The Adventure of Many Lifetimes’.  Here’s my results: ‘Well, you’re distressingly normal and could conceivably adjust to life as a deep space pioneer, though we recommend instead that you leave the Mars missions to the serious whack jobs who scored over 130 and instead finish year 3 of law school, tuck your toddler into bed, design Web 2.0 applications, run for Congress or do whatever other normal, healthy, middle-of-the-road thing you’re currently doing with your normal, healthy, middle-of-the-road life. ‘ Also notable was the Virgle is real link under the FAQs.

I’m guessing that there are others…please, keep me from boredom!

1 Comment

  1. Shannon said,

    April 1, 2008 at 3:18 pm

    you are cute…

    APRIL FOOLS!


Leave a Reply

