Tempus Fugit

The current market downturn can be seen as a shortage of lending, or the inability of businesses to get the money they require to do business.  Recently for myself there seems to be a shortage of time instead.  It seems no matter how little I plan myself, other people are always expecting me to do things.  In addition, even the ‘free’ time I have seems to somehow disappear.  The apartment is a mess, last night was the first time I did laundry in about two weeks, and I have about 50 secret projects I’m supposed to be finishing up while Mike is away.  Sometimes it has me asking myself why I ever say yes to anything, but I do like to keep busy.

The Latin phrase of the title and I have had an interesting history.  The first time I ever saw it was as the title of a short story for one of my roommates’ creative writing classes.  I knew that ‘tempus’ meant ‘time’ in Latin, but I wasn’t sure about the second word.  What could ‘fugit’ be?  Obviously, the Latin word for ‘fudge’.  I envisioned a weird dessert of those ancient concrete-aqueduct builders that allowed them to travel through time.  Yum.  When I was told that ‘fugit’ actually meant ‘flies’, my little daydream was further expanded.  Now I had time travel fudge that was self-propelled through the air.  What a great idea!

I never read the associated short story the title came with.  My friend Kate said it was boring, and I didn’t want it to foil my own fantastical imaginings.   I wonder what it was about?

Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go see if I can mess with my bosses’ picture using the free software I probably wasn’t supposed to download onto my work computer.  I’m a very busy person, you see.

2 Comments

  1. Your Boyfriend said,

    March 20, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Technically, “fugit” means ‘to escape”, as in ‘a fugitive’. “Flies” isn’t as correct as “flees”.

    Thats 5 years of latin folks. No, No, you can hold the applause.

  2. sedgehammer said,

    March 20, 2008 at 10:37 am

    Oh no! It’s fudge on the run!

    Time-traveling fudge that is…


Leave a Reply

