The Lion and the Big Orange Ball

While the title may seem like a great one for a children’s story, I really want to talk about something more serious and adult.  So, the adventures of Sparky and his amusing attempts to defeat inflated rubber in mortal combat will have to wait.  Instead, I’m going to discuss online banking and investing, one of the most serious and adult topics I can think of.

Currently, I have three actual bank accounts.  Two of them (checking accounts) are due to the logistics of my past – Indianapolis has eliminated Bank of America (woohoo!) and therefore there are no banks that have branches both in Indy and Boston.  When I moved to Boston, I opened my second account, but I still have the Indy one, just in case.  I think it has about $30 in it.  The final account is a savings account with ING direct.

For those of you who don’t know about ING Direct (and especially don’t have an account yet), let me give some detail.  It’s pretty awesome.  They give really good rates, probably because of lower overhead.  They have no branches – all transactions are handled online, so no locations to maintain, service people to hire, or paper transactions to record.   And if  you want to do CDs or other higher-yield savings options, they have those too.  Money is easily transferable, though sometimes the transaction does take a few days to process.  Also, if you let me refer you, I think I can get you $25 for your account, and me $10.

They have also just acquired Share Builder, which is basically an online investing platform.  So, now you can trade stocks and ETFs with them daily as well.  The associated fees are comparable to something like Scottrade, about $10 per transaction, which is twice as much as cheaper options like Zecco.  However, since I know them and they’ve proven so reliable with my money in the past, I think I might try it out.

2 Comments

  1. sedgehammer said,

    March 13, 2008 at 2:05 pm

    Yep – I can get you money if you let me know you’re interested and you open an account with $250 or more. Woohoo!

  2. Alex said,

    March 13, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    I’m pretty sure I pitched ING to you in the past, and you certainly didn’t ask me for a referral. Turncoat!


Leave a Reply

