Will Gnomies never cease?

I was surprised to note that during my recent illness and weekend time-away-from-blog, someone found my page by googling ‘hanging with my gnomies’.  I guess the phrase is becoming ever more popular, as we’re all suckers for corny jokes.  Is that a function of age?  I can remember my dad boring and annoying me consistently with his corny puns, but now that I’m almost out of my 20’s (ack! adulthood looms!), he’s occasionally funny.  Is this an early form of dementia?  Will I someday find even Airplane! (the only movie I ever had to stop watching out of boredom) entertaining?

Some people say that Frank L. Baum’s Nome King was based on the idea of gnomes.  I don’t understand how.   They’re both tricky?  I mean, isn’t it dwarves who work with precious metals and gems usually, rather than gnomes?  Don’t gnomes just steal?  And since when do garde-variety gnomes look like rocks or fear chickens?  Eggs as poison, indeed!  I mean, I’m all for fantasy, but it gets a little ridiculous when your theories try to cross about 5 different fantasy worlds.

2 Comments

  1. sedgehammer said,

    February 13, 2008 at 11:02 am

    That shirt reference is very true. It’s also a button. However, your crafting imagery is just silly.


Leave a Reply

