What my job needs.

So, I was browsing online today and came across this.  Now, I was a big fan of the idea behind the “eats, shoots, and leaves” book (even though I never read it) and this seems in line with that whole idea.  So I’m excited about that, and about possibly getting to the library.  I had heard of the book before, but now I’ve been completely sucked in by the endorsements.

And then I thought, ‘You know, everyone in my office could use this book.  In fact, you might as well call us ‘Comma Splice City’ and be done with it.’  But endorsements can on occasion be wrong, so I’d better read the whole thing first myself.  Then I only have to convince my supa-cool boss man that everyone in the office needs one.  Here’s my argument: not only will they be funny (because they are), but they will also be educational.  And guess what?  We work at an educational institution! It will increase worker productivity too.  Really.  Especially my productivity if people actually use it and I don’t have to correct them every five minutes.

1 Comment

  1. John Shore said,

    February 4, 2008 at 6:57 pm

    Yes. Everyone at your job should have a copy of “Comma Sense.” In fact, everyone in the building in which you work, and everyone who lives on your block, should also have a copy. I think that’s a WONDERFUL idea.

    Har, har.

    Actually, if you wanna see a REALLY funny big from the book, look here:

    http://johnshore.wordpress.com/2007/06/30/when-punctuation-goes-really-really-wrong/


Leave a Reply

