A Work-Life Balance or, Falling Off Your Chair.

Few of us can say we have ever actually fallen off of our chairs, despite the common use of the phrase as an indication of our intense laughter.  I have.  In a public place.  On purpose.  I sat on the edge on command and proceeded to slip off the edge and down to teh floor on my tush pillows, exploding the chair from beneath me.  Though our waitress thought I had, in fact, broken the chair and not just fallen off it,  I am not a fat person.  But that’s neither here not there.

The point is, I am one of the few that has some real-life experience with the falling-off-the-chair bit.  And really, the whole idea is a lot like the idea of a work-life balance, the idea that your kids, or your spouse, or your activities, or whatever it is that’s important can somehow be balanced out with your career responsibilities.

As  Leslie Morgan Steiner writes in her blog on this topic, it’s not possible.  Not only is that kind of balance impossible to maintain, it’s also very hard to reach for a few brief moments of your life.  Either your life or your job or both are going to edge in demand more than their share of attention.  Usually both.

So what do you do?  Leslie calls it ‘hugging the gorilla’.  I prefer something a little closer to home – I try to remember to be unafraid to fall off my chair.  If I can’t maintain the perfect balance, who cares?  No one can maintain yogic position, perfectly chair-balanced forever.  And the floor isn’t really so bad.  If you’re a little prepared to fall, it doesn’t even hurt coming down.  So I just try to be ready, on the edge of my chair.  Maybe when I fall the next time I’ll even get a laugh from the waitress.

Leave a Reply

