The words we’ve misplaced.

I’ve started reading Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut today. That may be weird to those of you who knwo I’m an avid reader. And I like Vonnegut – I do – I just had never gotten around to this one before. There are lots and lots of them, you know. But when a friend decided to give up their worldly possessions, including books, I jumped at teh chance to possess a copy. Ahh, possessions.

So far I’ve just read a bit, but it’s good. I’ve already been reminded of things forgotten: Armistice Day, and prosperity. How I miss these words in my everyday speech! How I wish they would return to me freely, perhaps unannounced. Thus far, they have not.
I read a post online today as well that mentioned this problem. The lost word? Frankfurter. Wouldn’t we all be better people, wouldn’t the world just be a better place, if we said frankfurter a little more often?

1 Comment

  1. skinbad said,

    January 31, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Thanks for stopping by. Your “Conherency of Mormons” caught my eye–because I are one. But I’m not an especially interesting one. I’ve crossed blog paths with this guy: http://muslihoon.wordpress.com/
    He’s lives in the U.S. but grew up Muslim in Pakistan. He’s studied a lot of religions and somehow ended up Mormon. So if you want a thinking man’s take, I think he would also be interesting to chat with. Best wishes.


Leave a Reply

