Hanging with my Gnomies

I, at the moment, am at a slow point of day with nothing much to do and no ambition to do any more ‘real’ writing.  I asked a friend for a little topic help.  He said I should write about gnomes.

As I am, even late in the work day on a Friday, a dedicated writer, I decided I would at least do a little research.  Lo and behold, I discovered gnomes were not only little earth elementals living underground, but also an entire computer ‘graphical interface’.  For free!

I am referring to GNOME (pronounced Ga-NOME) which is a collaborative effort to collect all the software you need under free licensing.  Basically the idea is to promote user-driven development of software and related stuff and to re-offer it to the larger public across the globe.  Kinda cool, thinks me.

But there are other sides to this word of wonder –  there are also ethical groups concerned with issues that America was founded on – freedom, and equal protection under the law.  Sites like this one help ensure that protection for our gnomen brethren.  And whether you consider them peaceful dwellers of the northern forest, or dirty earth grubbers who hoard their cash, they certainly are ripe for persecution.

While I still haven’t written anything, I have learned a lot.   Gnomes rule, little red hats or no.

Leave a Reply

