A Plug for TEAL

Recently a friend of mine noted the way sports writers were corrupting the use of articles. Well, I happen to know a few writers of sports articles personally myself, and I can safely say this is not necessarily a trend. However, I was curious – could I really be sure? What if I only have personal acquaintance with the more literate brand of sports writers? Since I’m not writing in French so much, how can I ever even know Est-ce a ou de? True, there are organizations out there pledged to heal this country’s grammar and usage maladies. Organizations like TEAL (Typo Eradication and Advancement League). But are they really enough to stem the tide? And just how much of a tide is it?

I decided I would take my alleged ‘work time’ to find out. I looked at the Yohoo! Sports page (since sports was the area in which the first article use thingy happened), since I felt yahoo would be a more potentially under-grammared site than CNN. This is what I found (in the top headlines):

“The House Oversight and Government Reform Committee that addressed each of those issues Tuesday plans to hold a Feb. 13 hearing that promises to be far more riveting, featuring Roger Clemens and his former personal trainer, Brian McNamee, who has said he injected the star pitcher with steroids and human growth hormone. ” – Improper use of ‘that’ related to article use.

I did read a second article that had no egregious errors (though a few stylistic tweaks could’ve certainly helped), and realized I actually had to do some work this morning. So I was unable to complete my task. Anyone up for taking another look for me?

4 Comments

  1. Alex said,

    January 16, 2008 at 2:07 pm

    I always find the Fox Sports articles to be generally awful, which may also be why there’s no way to directly contact the writers (compare to ESPN, where you can search for writers and get contact info, and sometimes their email is at the end of every article anyway). But too busy to look around today.
    Speaking of typos, I think you looked at Yahoo!, not yohoo.

  2. sedgehammer said,

    January 16, 2008 at 2:12 pm

    No, I meant yoohoo. Ok, I did mean Yahoo! Oops.

  3. February 2, 2008 at 3:30 pm

    […] lots of cleaning to do today even after I finish blogging here.  But still – if you need help CNN, TEAL (Typo Eradication and Advancement League) is here for […]

  4. March 5, 2008 at 10:26 am

    […] am (Uncategorized) Tags: blog, TEAL, travel Some of you may have read my former postings about TEAL (Typo Eradication Advancement League). Today, at the start of Jeff’s momentous journey across […]


Leave a Reply

