iPod Plus.

Living with an avid Mac supporter has been an interesting experience, growing up as I have in the PC world.  While there have been some lame attempts to convert me to the other side, none have yet succeeded.  I guess I just don’t see the supposed benefits of switching.  Perhaps someday I’ll be converted – who knows?  I don’t have much vested interest in either side.  Just so far the supposed claims that Macs run better and are more user-friendly haven’t panned out for me.  Oh well.

Take the iPod, arguably the best mini music player out there.   I would even say it is the best, even including alternative forms of music minis like satellite radio.  However, ‘best’ does not necessarily translate to ‘good’.  Take, for example, the lovely compilation of songs that Mike had installed on the iPod for me when he gave it to me.  Of course, as soon as I stick my iPod into my PC, it has to reformat and wipe out all that thoughtfulness.  Why?  Copyright protection?  Possible viruses?  No.  Simply because Macs and PCs can’t seem to get along.  Why not?  Aren’t we all here for the same reasons?  C’mon people!  I’m talking about togetherness!

Also, let’s note the CD he burned me for Christmas.  1) It’s about a quarter of the volume of all the other songs on my iTunes 2) Because I am dumb and never remember the names of songs or singers, I have no idea what I’m listening to, since my iTunes doesn’t like his iTunes and can’t read the song titles and singers from the disc.  What is this?  Have we not moved beyond this petty ridiculousness?  I mean, I know in the past with some Word versions there have been document conversion problems, but i thought we’d moved beyond that technologically.  If I write a love note in Word on my computers, he can still read it in Word on his.

Lastly, the iPhone.  Supposedly the wonder of wonders technologically,  it is pretty cool.  I’ve played games on it, and used it to look things up or get directions.  SO that’s nice and good.  but alot of the ‘fun stuff’ I’ve played with is only even there since Mike has hacked his iPhone.  Dude.  If this is ‘the thing’ for those nerdy types, you know someone is going to be able to hack the thing – why not allow people to install applications as they like instead of coming up with new and better ways to beat the hacks.  I just don’t get it.

2 Comments

  1. Your Boyfriend said,

    January 15, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    Do you really want to get me started?

    The ipod thing… PCs have used the same disk format since the days of DOS. The filesystem is old, and it doesn’t support certain things that a modern operating system should (punctuation, case sensitivity, etc). With vista, microsoft moved to a new more modern filesystem (and most people dont realize they have to reformat their drives to install Vista). The old apple filesystem did support these things, but apple changed filesystems again when they developed OSX because its got that unix backbone. Anyway, you had to reformat because PCs won’t read mac or unix formated discs (unless you buy and install software). The mac can read both the PC and Mac formatted discs.

    The CD thing. The volume is my fault — I normalized the volume when I burned the disk. The text — is your PCs fault. Apparently windows doesn’t have CDTEXT support (By the way, I’m talking XP, not Vista. I would hope Vista does.) Ive read that Windows media player may have a plug in now for cdtext.

    With the iPhone thing — Apple is releasing a development kit in feb. so that people can write software and we can add it without hacking the phone. Which I’m guessing everyone on earth knows except you. Arent you dating me?

    Lastly, I haven’t really tried to convert you. It just pisses me off when installing a printer on your computer is a 45 minute exercise. If you want me to start trying to convert you, you just let me know.

  2. sedgehammer said,

    January 15, 2008 at 3:34 pm

    Hi Mike! Welcome to my blog!

    Ok, I know nothing about disk formats, so you may be right there.

    Please though, tell me more about the iTunes CDTEXT support thing. Maybe you know something I don’t but my understand was that Windows does support CDTEXT – if you use the windows media player, or some other program. It’s the iTunes software run on a PC that doesn’t support the switch. Maybe that’s the fault of my PC as well, since PCs and Macs don’t like each other. But I don’t think so.

    Yes I am dating YOU. Hello! 🙂 I know blah blah development kit – why wouldn’t they just do that from the beginning?

    Yes, the printer thing is a pain. And I know you say you haven’t been trying to convert me. That’s what I said – ‘lame attempts’.


Leave a Reply

