Gyminee for me.

So, in my renewed commitment to being healthier this year, I have been to a yoga class at my gym class once so far this week. That’s probably not very good exercise-wise, since it’s the only time I’ve been to the gym, but it’s definitely a more complete stretching of muscles than I normally accomplish on my own. Witness: my rib-muscles (wherever the ones directly over your ribs are called) are still hurting.

Be that as it may, I did accomplish one other thing, which is to regularly start tracking my daily ‘health vitals’ – my weight, body fat, exercise, and food/beverage intake. It’ll be interesting to see if I can watch any trends between these things. Of course, most of them are not indicators of health per se – I would like to also be able to track my heart rate or some other vital signs, but this will do for a start.

As a part of this process, Mike and I signed up for this little online service called ‘Gyminee‘. It’s not a bad little service, for what it is. Granted, we only signed up for the free part, but that still lets you track a fair amount of nutrition information. Individuals enter specific product information which is available to all participants, so you can usually find an entry comparable to what you’re eating by searching. And it will chart your intake over the period of time that you regularly enter information, as well as other statistics – resting hear rate, weight, and various body size measurements (waist, arm, etc.). The downside is that it doesn’t really allow you to track your exercise without signing up for their special services, which is how they make their money. Also, the charts leave a little to be desired, as they only track one thing at a time. So I can see that my weight went up-down-up-up-down over the past few days (mine tends to fluctuate alot), but that doesn’t tell me anything in comparison to how I’ve been eating or exercising.

So I decided to make one of my own.

exercise-2.jpg

I ended up putting it on two charts instead of just one, and I think it’s not that bad.  A little hard to read, but I can do a  bit more with line weigh and colors to spruce that up.  Anyway, I can’t post Excel files here, but if anyone wants a copy, they can email me (miamaya222@yahoo.com).  Is my email listed someplace here?

Oh! I just thought of something. It would also be useful to try and track other eating habits at the same time – such as when eating is typically done, how much eating is done in one meal or a series of little snacks, and how quickly you eat. But that will have to wait for another day – I’m all pooped out of Excel and figuring things out.

2 Comments

  1. r3v3r3nd3 said,

    January 22, 2008 at 8:12 pm

    Thanks for trying Gyminee.

    Just so you know, you can track exercises and workout programs with the free version of Gyminee. The PRO site gives you access to workout programs created by personal trainers.

    I like your graphs. We are actually working on some new graphing capability.

    Best Regards,

    Andy
    Gyminee.com

  2. February 2, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    […] blah. But it goes deeper than that. Take, for instance, the gyminee program and graphs I wrote about earlier. I was all excited to get going and track my progress! And I thought that I might even be […]


Leave a Reply

