Scrabulous? Perhaps

Though I was pulled kicking and screaming into the Facebook world by my two younger sisters (Thanks, both of you, for the giant GAPS on my Myspace Top 12), I have found my permanent niche there. That niche is online Scrabble. I love it, I’m addicted, and I’m half-torn between admitting I have a problem and dancing with joy at the thought of procrastination which may actually sharpen my mind. And while it’s probably not so good to be constantly online checking on the multiple games I have going at once, it is nice to have a little brain bender to turn to when I need a little break. Call it the World Wide Water Cooler.

In addition I have recently encountered a new type of Scrabble that makes clear what I love about Facebook’s online version, Scrabulous. It’s called Scrabble Scramble. In some unknown way it differs from Scrabble Express, which I have no experience with. Anyway, the point of this game is speed.  No more waiting for the slow one to tediously spell out three letter words. No more dancing around the room hoping that your perfect bingo is not destroyed before you can play it. It’s a roll-and-go game that forces you to think on your feet and adapt to changing situations under pressure.

While I do still love and cherish the online dictionary of Scrabulous, some have said that checking your words in such dictionaries is tantamount to cheating. I prefer to think of such use as a way to learn new words and expand my mind, but I will say it’s rare for me to actually look up the words I’ve discovered. Still, what really draws me to both Scrabulous and Scrabble Scramble is the flexibility of the game. Both take up just a little bit of time, are portable or readily accessible from multiple locations, and demand flexible thinking as well as game strategy and a large vocabulary. Where could you go wrong with that?

Leave a Reply

